Nordic Council of Ministers

Nordic co-operation – between Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden, as well as the Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Åland – is one of the world’s most extensive forms of regional collaboration. Nordic cooperation has long involved  politics, finance, and culture. It plays an important role in European and international collaboration, and aims to build a strong Nordic community in a strong Europe. 

The first step to the current formal, political co-operation was taken after the World War II, and in 1952 the Nordic Council was formed. The Nordic Council is the Nordic parliamentary co-operation forum, and acts as an advisory body for the Nordic national governments.

Nordic co-operation

The Nordic Council of Ministers was established in 1971 and is the forum for Nordic governmental co-operation. Representatives of the five governments meet in the Council of Ministers where, for example, they draw up the Nordic conventions.

The presidency of the Council of Ministers, which is held for a period of one year, rotates between the five Nordic countries. The country holding the presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers draws up a programme which guides Nordic co-operation during the year. Issues are raised and acted upon by the various Committees of Senior Officials made up of civil servants from the member countries.

Official Nordic co-operation is financed principally with tax revenues from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. There is a special distribution plan which specifies how much each country will contribute to the Nordic budget to run the Nordic Council, the Nordic Council of Ministers and the Nordic institutions.

More than one third of the Nordic Council of Ministers' budget goes to funding the Nordic institutions. Several institutions are funded fully or partially in this manner. NIAS is partially funded by the Nordic Council of Ministers.

Read more about the Nordic Council of Ministers and Nordic cooperation here.